Art · Inspiration

E is for Elephant

I have a confession to make: I am not a parent.
It is very hard, I must tell you, to be an “un-parent” in a craft blogging world. It appears as if what everyone wants, what everyone expects is children related crafts. Nursery ideas, keep-the-children-busy ideas, children toys, children blankets, children whatever.
When I first got into the craft blogging world, it just seemed like somebody yanked all the mothers in the world and put them right there, in their own “blogsphere”.

This is not bad. Most of the bloggers I watch are mothers. They seem to have great imagination, a resourcefulness I have come to admire and most of the time a sense of humor about their supposed terrible condition. They are truly admiring.

Having said all that (whew, glad I got that off my chest), I do dabble in children-entertaining ideas, mostly for my two lovely nephews. I have thought about doing many things for them, most of which they have quickly grown out of the idea. It doesn’t stop me from thinking though, that one day I will have my own children and I’d want to make my own toys, wall art, etc.

So I got a spark. I have seen many beautiful nursery alphabet sets, but I’d have liked to make my own. I thought about doing a felt/fabric version or hand painting them but seeing as I am just fiddling with the idea, I figured I could do a digital version first to test things out.
I am not entirely happy with it, I believe it needs to be rounder and cuter, but for a sketchy start it’s alright.

What do you think? Is there anything missing? Is it overly done?
I’d love to hear your feedback.

E is for Elephant, elephant, digital, drawing, painting, nursery, alphabet, patterns

2 thoughts on “E is for Elephant

  1. I love it as it is! There is a good mix of different patterns and colours. It is very appealing to adults but my three year old also likes it. My eldest suggested that you should do a girly one in a pinkish colour too!

    1. Thank you!
      I’m glad it didn’t come out too girly what with the purples and pinks, so lovely to hear your son also loved it, I’ll definitely make more of those, a girly version is a wonderful idea.

Leave a Reply

