Breakfast · Food · New Beginnings

In the Beginning, there was Nothing

I don’t write nearly as much as I should and I don’t cook as much as I’d like.

I always loved writing, the way that every jot and tittle got together to make a letter, then a word, then a sentence and then a story. How can ink and some paper describe somebody’s life? But it does.

To me, writing is a natural extension of my “artistic” disposition, it doesn’t matter whether I use images, words, wool or food, it is all for the same purpose. What I am really doing is letting me out and letting you in. Everything about me defines who I am and to me, there is a lot to words. They are much like tools; if they are used correctly you could easily extract who I am.

So let me start from the beginning. As I titled this post, in the beginning, there was nothing. Some time after nothing was nothing, there was lots of water and then there was light and you know the rest of the story: lots of water, people, plants and animals came together and here we are, 5,000 years later, using the internet and thinking in global terms.

There are a lot of theories about how things came to being. I have my theory, you must have yours.

But when I think about how this blog, this simple thing that just about everyone and their neighbour has, came to being – I can only come to one conclusion. A thousand paintings, ten thousand books and a million words will not do to tell you have it came to be. It would be like trying to describe who I am. You just cannot sum up who you are, no matter how much of your life you spend trying to do so and so I will not even try.

I have a tendency to simplify things (at least, I always do my best not to complicate things although most the time I fail completely). For example, I can read a recipe that has ten ingredients and when I get around to cooking it, I’ll stick to about half.

If the recipe calls for half a cup of something, I’ll put in less, or more, depending on my mood. If the certain ingredient is missing from my fridge (and usually it does), I’ll just replace it with something else. If I managed to put in half a cup but some half a cup spilled, oh well, I’ll just work with that.

A guy told me once that it cannot be, that this way I will never be able to replicate the dish successfully. I looked at him, quite perplexed, and answered: “but I don’t care about replicating it, I care that it comes out great every time”.

Minimalism, to me, is an art-form. Because there is so little time and so much to do, we need to focus on the important things in life.

If you are still following my train of thought, you need a medal. Sometimes I can hardly keep up with myself.

Since my passions for art and words and images and food have a tendency to collide, I figured I would share some of the things that these collisions create. I am by no means an expert cook. As I have said before, I have a tendency not to follow recipes. If I accidentally stumbled upon a chef’s recipe, I’ll usually get out of there quickly. I do not speak Chef. They make food complicated and although most of the time it’s pretty and shiny, I tend to find it… well, redundant. Give me the simple things, the sweet porridge on a rainy Saturday morning that makes me realise that no matter how complex we try to make life, it is the simple things that give us the most joy. It is watching the dogs play or a beautiful rainbow right out of the clouds or just a friend calling to say they love you. These are things that make us complete, not a fancy title or a lot of friends.

The food I make is the personalization of me. I love sweet, I love comforting, I love simple. I love to experiment and I love when people enjoy things. Food should not be complicated, life is complicated enough.

So I am adding this new facet to this blog, I hope that you’ll try some of the recipes (they are simple, I promise) and make them your own, but most of all, I hope you enjoy cooking.

Oatmeal

Simple Oatmeal Porridge (perfect for a rainy day)

1/2 cup oatmeal, I use the gross version

1 cup milk (you can use water or half/half)

Put together in a pot, cook on medium-high flame while constantly stirring.

Takes about 10 minutes until the oats soften.

Serving suggestion: I like to add cinnamon and Rub Syrup (date syrup) but today I went crazy and put in maple.

You might also want to consider putting in dried fruits.

5 thoughts on “In the Beginning, there was Nothing

  1. The older I get the more I like oatmeal.Easy to digest.And also healthy.
    And since I am opposite to you…I really DONT like cooking…it is definately
    the ideal breakfast for me.Easy and healthy.Yeah !

    Ps) Like your writing style and how your thoughts run together to create
    such nice ,warm thoughts !

Leave a Reply

